Diamond colour

ShoppingTelly

Help Support ShoppingTelly:

OrangeLady

Registered Shopper
Hello,

This is my first time posting, but I've been reading everyone's thoughts on Gemporia for a few months.

I've recently bought a pair of diamond stud earrings. It's taking longer than usual to dispatch this order so I went wandering around the Internet to see if I'd got a bargain or if I'd been lured in.

If someone was trying to sell you "VSI blush diamonds" what colour might you associate with the word 'blush'? Pink maybe? The Argyle mine website uses "blush" to mean very pale pink. They have an in-house grading system for coloured diamonds which apparently has been adopted by the industry.

Tucked away in the description section on the website for these earrings is the colour "J-K". Absolutely not pink! Industry description for "near colourless/ faint yellow".

I've emailed customer services to ask if these diamond earrings are pink or yellow. First reply gives me a non-committal answer and a screen shot of their system behind the scenes where the info is entered.
Prefix = blush
Colour = (blank)
Diamond colour = J-K

So, I've replied with my links to the standard diamond colour grading and the Argyle website colour grading. And pointed out their own information is conflicting - blush cannot be J-K, pink cannot be yellow.

What do you think?

The biggest giveaway that they'll be yellow diamonds is that they're set into yellow gold.

Gemporia's so-called pink diamonds barely have any colour - and they're almost always set into rose gold, so that the pink from the rose gold helps to make the pink diamonds look pinker than they actually are.

My opinion? They're likely to be murky off-white diamonds with perhaps a slight pinkish secondary hue from impurities.